Is Jesus God Because He Said That His Words Will Never Pass Away?

Christian Argument:

Jesus said…

Matthew 24:35

35Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.

 

Jesus said that his words will never pass away. That means that his words are eternal. Only God’s words are eternal. Therefore, Jesus is God.

Muslim Response:

This is very easy to reply to. You see, Jesus did not speak of his own authority. He came and spoke the words of God…

 

John 12:49

For I did not speak of my own accord, but the Father who sent me commanded me what to say and how to say it.

John 14:24

He who does not love me will not obey my teaching. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me

 

Therefore, the words coming out of Jesus’ mouth were not really his but from the Father who is the ONLY TRUE GOD…

 

John 17:3

Now this is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.

 

So when Jesus said that his words are eternal that really meant that it was God’s words and not his that was eternal. So Jesus is not God.

 

 

And God knows best..

Leave a Reply

